GUILLAUME DURRIEU
Grand rouge


 

Exhibition:  March 12th - April 9th 2016

Opening March 12th 2016, at 4 pm

 

The pictorial work of Guillaume Durrieu deploys all of its perceptual and dialogical complexity in a paradoxically literal form, which is not devoid of humour. 

We can see as many processes for fabricating as for installing the work. They have been taken directly from the cinema – in the frame and back into the frame, outside the frame, outside its scope, using a depth of scope or even overprinting – and this has allowed the artist to put the apparent stand-alone quality and objectivity of his painting into perspective, and to reconstitute it in the form of an installation. This installation is also a subtle encounter between different media, forms and registers, when it takes over the space in a certain manner, or when plans are phased in a particular way, or when the relationship with scale is stretched.

So Guillaume Durrieu’s wide-reaching field of research and experimentation in art – sound compositions, written works, film direction and also cookery research – bear witness to his ability to commit painting to a critical terrain, particularly by using the collective form. 

In parallel to his personal exhibition at the Rabouan-Moussion Gallery, Guillaume Durrieu is also displaying the stage set that he built for Stephen Sondheim’s Passion musical at the Châtelet theatre in Paris. 

Julie Sas

 


Guillaume Durrieu

Décor pour la comedie musicale Passion / Set for the musical Passion

Thêatre du Chatelet, 03.16.2016  -  03.24.2016

GUILLAUME DURRIEU
Grand rouge

Exposition du 12 mars au 9 avril 2016

Vernissage le 12 mars 2016, à partir de 16 heures

 

C’est dans une forme paradoxale de littéralité - non dénuée d’humour - que le travail pictural de Guillaume Durrieu déploie toute sa complexité perceptuelle et dialogique.

Cadrage, recadrage, décadrage, hors champ, profondeur de champ ou encore surimpression sont autant de procédés de fabrication et de montage, directement empruntés au cinéma, qui permettent à l’artiste de mettre en perspective l’apparente autonomie et objectivité de sa peinture, et de la restituer sous la forme d’un agencement. Cet agencement, s’il peut concerner un certain déroulé dans l’espace, un échelonnement particulier de plans, un rapport d'échelle distendu, est également celui d’une subtile confrontation entre différents médias, genres et registres.

L’hétérogénéité du champ de recherche et des expérimentations plastiques de Guillaume Durrieu - compositions sonores, travail d’écriture, réalisation de films, mais aussi recherches culinaires - témoignent ainsi de sa capacité à engager la peinture sur un terrain critique, notamment par la forme du collectif.

En parallèle à son exposition personnelle à la Galerie Rabouan-Moussion, Guillaume Durrieu présente la scénographie qu’il a réalisé pour la comédie musicale Passion, de Stephen Sondheim au théâtre du Châtelet. 

 

Julie Sas


Guillaume Durrieu

Décor pour la comedie musicale Passion / Set for the musical Passion

Thêatre du Chatelet, 16/03/2016  -  24/03/2016